Posted by: kshayes513 | February 24, 2009

Missing In Action

My apologies for the long hiatus between posts. Lots going on, some of it pertaining to Khasran. The Thief of Twilight, the story I’ve been revising and polishing, is just about ready to go out. (Do you have any idea how much nitpicky work is required to convert a 5000 word ms into “Standard Manuscript Format?” I once hoped the electronic age was going to free us from that. Apparently not, at least not for fiction. Happy to say, I don’t have to worry about SMF with electronic article submissions.)

And I’m already a third of the way through the first draft of the holiday story, to my surprise. Usually it takes me a while to find my way into a new environment in Khasran, but this story came together very quickly because of a worldbuilding serendipity, which I’ll post about soon.

In other forms of time-hogging activity, I’m starting in the busiest season of my mundane day job, and exploring some new avenues for non-fiction writing and journalism–but that’s enough reality!

The real reason for my mega blogging procrastination this month is that I’ve been wanting to overhaul the blog, get a bit more tech savvy so I can upgrade it with RSS and some of the other cool widgets. So I’ve kept putting off posting because I thought I would start doing the upgrade instead. However, I’ll have to put in some serious study time in order to do that, as I’m still very new at the technical and development aspects of the blogosphere.  And there’s no reason I can’t keep posting regularly, so I’ll try to get here at least a couple of times a week even if I’m buried in real world sh–stuff.

The end goal for making improvements is to bring in more readers, so that we’ll have lots of commentary and discussion. Creating a community of people who love worldbuilding was and remains one of my primary goals in starting this blog.

So stay with me, and soon, I hope, you’ll be seeing a shinier and busier WorldBuildingRules. And more regular posts on world building and the latest stories. I promise.

Leave a Reply

Categories

