Posted by: kshayes513 | August 10, 2009

2009 Hugo Awards

Some of my favorite people were winners in this year’s Hugo Awards, presented this past weekend at Anticipation, the 67th World Science Fiction Convention in Montreal.  All of them snatched their shiny rockets from especially tough competition in their respective categories.

The 2009 Hugo Award Trophy, designed by Dave Howell. Photo: Dave Howell, thehugoawards.org

The 2009 Hugo Award Trophy, designed by Dave Howell. Photo: Dave Howell, thehugoawards.org

Best Novel: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, HarperCollins. I’ve met Neil twice in autograph lines, and follow his blog with delight, because I never know what he’ll be talking about next. As one of my favorite writers who also has a great web site, he has a permanent spot in the Writers links here.

Best Related Book: Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008, John Scalzi (Subterranean Press). I interviewed John about his work as creative consultant for Stargate Universe (see Issue 30 of Stargate Magazine), and I owe him a “Reading” entry about his  Old Man’s War series. His blog “Whatever” is another that I read regularly,for the same reason I read Neil’s.

Best Graphic Story: Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones, Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio, art by Phil Foglio, colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment). You’ll find the link to Girl Genius Online right over there in the Geektastic links category. Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, the first thing I do on opening Firefox, is go read the new page of the story. I think this win pleases me most, because Girl Genius has not previously won the wide recognition enjoyed by my other favorite winners. That will now start to change! (by the way, if you’re new to Girl Genius, don’t start with Volume 8. The comic is one long serial story, so start from the beginning. )

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form: Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, Joss Whedon, & Zack Whedon, & Jed Whedon, & Maurissa Tancharoen, writers; Joss Whedon, director (Mutant Enemy). Dr Horrible also has a permanent home here in Geektastic. Despite the stiffest of competition (including several other personal favorites like Dr Who and Battlestar Galactica) I had little doubt that Dr. Horrible would win this year, not only because it is funny, brilliant, heartbreaking and has great songs; but because it’s unique in too many ways to mention. Unlike certain more famous screen awards, the Hugos generally reward groundbreaking creativity instead of hoping it will go away if they ignore it.

Hearty congratulations not only to my favorite winners, but to all the winners this year. You can find the full list of winners at the Hugo Awards homepage. and the nominees at The Locus Index to SF Awards

Responses

  1. Hiya. I would love to trade links. Great blog. Also, I looked for a way to feed or follow your blog. I saw no tools here to do so.

  2. Hi, Ann!
    Thanks for stopping in. I’m happy to trade links with you.

    There’s an RSS button in the address window that you can use to subscribe that way.

    WordPress says they recently added a Widget to follow by email, but I haven’t figured out how to set that up yet. I’ll put it next on the construction list!


Leave a Reply

Categories

