Posted by: kshayes513 | October 22, 2009

Happy Anniversary!

Happy Birthday to Us! Yes, its really a cake, made by the London Cake Company and featured on Cake Wrecks (see their link in Geektastic)

Happy Birthday to Us! Yes, its really a cake, made by the London Cake Company and featured on Cake Wrecks - where they also feature outstanding cakes like this one alongside the wrecks (see their link in Geektastic)

Today is the first anniversary of WorldBuildingRules!

In this first year, I’ve made 67 posts in 35 categories and 57 tags.

I’ve talked about several different stories I’m writing about my imaginary world, Khasran. One, The Master Patterns was published before the blog began; another, The Thief of Twilight, is going through the magazine submission slog right now; and two were started this year, because of ideas from posts on this blog. I’m still working on these and other unfinished stories that I haven’t yet mentioned, so stay with me as I address the storytelling and worldbuilding challenges they raise.

I’ve learned more about writing good posts and a lot about formatting blog pages and adding widgets. I’m sure there’s still a lot more to learn and new approaches and topics to try.

And I’ve had some surprises about what kind of  content attracts the most interest. The “Most Popular” list tells the story: by far the most visited post on this site is my Apollo 11 anniversary post. Not necessarily from any virtue of the post, but because this is a very popular topic. Every day I get hits from searches for “moon landing” “Buzz Aldrin on moon” “earth from moon” “Apollo 8 earthrise” and similar keywords. I also suspect that the post’s title “Moon Landings Real and Imagined” has drawn a few moon landing conspiracy theorists – who must have been disappointed to learn that my imaginary moon landing is the one in the Heinlein movie, not the one in their conspiracy! That’s worth a giggle at least. When I reread the post in that context, I’m glad to see that some of my observations do serve to support the truth, in that I point out some details that we could only learn by going into space in person.

I’ve gotten some faithful followers and a lot of compliments. I haven’t gotten as much discussion as I’d hoped, but I trust that will come along in time. And I have grown my visibility substantially.  When I started, I could count the daily visitors on the fingers of one hand. While I’m still far from being a megasite, I ran out of daily fingers and toes months ago.

One major thing that’s still lacking: I really want to find more online resources for worldbuilders. Though I’ve got a few, and they’re all great, I want to add many many more, enough to create a whole page of resource links on many areas of worldbuilding. And for that I need your help. If you’re a worldbuilder and you have some favorite sites that provide indispensable information about space travel, historical or alien clothing, languages, weapons, cities or any other arcane information that helps you make a believable world, please send me the link so I can check it out.

Meanwhile, have some cake and join me in Year 2!

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday, WorldBuilding Rules! Did you know you share a birthday with my first beloved pair of cats, Merry and Shadow? Sweet!

  2. Happy Anniversary! I love your blog. You have such great post. And pink is not my favorite color, but I love that cake.

    If you get a chance stop by my page (http://cc-chronicles.blogspot.com) and check out Ember in Wrilogonzia. She’s a round robin story for bloggers. I know you are super busy, but I would love to read your take on her journey.

  3. Thanks, CC.

    A round-robin “blog opera” does indeed look like a lot of fun. It’s a great idea. Wish I had time to play, but just now any story writing time has to go to my own stuff, or I’ll never get more Khasran stories out there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

