Posted by: kshayes513 | February 12, 2010

Boskone 47

John Picacio's cover art for the Boskone 47 program. See more of his work at http://www.johnpicacio.com

This weekend I’m at Boskone 47, catching up with friends, making new ones, and handing out WorldBuildingRules! cards to anyone interested in the topic.

The big draws this year for me are Special Guest Tom Shippey, whose work on Tolkien was my first review here; and NESFA Guests Lois McMaster Bujold, whose name I may have also mentioned here a couple of times! Hoping to come home with some freshly autographed favorites.

I’ll be attending any panels featuring editors of short story markets, in the hope of meeting some of the people I’ve been submitting to lately; plus any other panel relevant to worldbuilding in games and fiction, or that catches my eye and looks like fun. I haven’t looked at the posted program yet, but one panel I know I’ll be attending is the Avatar panel, which Bob Eggleton, who’s a panelist, expects to be packed and very contentious (“Haters can complain until their blue in the face” is how Entertainment Weekly‘s box office chart gleefully put it!).  I plan to join the food fight, with the heavy artillery (mashed potatoes and gravy) of Henry Jenkins’ arguments and a few of my own.

I’ll naturally visit the art show to see the latest from my friends (see the links to the right), plus whatever new work NESFA guest Michael Whelan is showing. I’ve spoken to him at previous conventions, and he’s a thoroughly nice guy, too. I’m hoping I’ll also meet Rick Sardinha, who kindly gave permission for me to use one of his paintings in my City of Poets Part 2 post.

So I’ll be back next week to tell you about my weekend. And maybe I’ll even see some of you in Boston.

Responses

  1. It was a SUPER conference!


Leave a Reply

Categories

