Posted by: kshayes513 | April 10, 2010

Vampire Pandemic Ended!

Unstrange Phenomena, by Ed Allison

No, it’s not really ended, but we all can wish…

I do have some news to follow up my Vampire Pandemic post of last Halloween, in which I suggested that spec fiction writers of all media give us a rest from all the vampires and werewolves and try writing about some other types of paranormal beings.

A few weeks after that post, my friend and LinkedIn sparring partner Kevin Hosey at Cliffhanger Books announced a call for submissions for their first themed anthology, Paramourtal, a collection of paranormal romance stories.

My first reaction to the theme was, “I bet they’ll be swamped with vampire stories!” (note to self: ask Kevin if they were swamped with vampire stories).

Since I had just thrown down the gauntlet by suggesting other mythical beings to write about, I decided to try taking my own advice. And my own post provided the story idea. I won’t tell you which creature I chose from that list, but it was unusual enough that one of the Cliffhanger editors had never even heard of  it.

The story is called The Fisherman’s Wife. You can read it for yourself when Paramourtal is published later this year.  Thanks, Kevin and Evelyn!

For more on Paramourtal, and to see the full list of stories, go to Cliffhanger’s web site.

For more of Ed Allison’s Unstrange Phenomena, one of my favorite daily strips, see the Yahoo News page, or go to  Comics.com/unstrange_phenomena. (If anyone knows of a home page for Unstrange Phenomena, please let me know and I’ll post the link here.)

Responses

  1. YAY!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

