Posted by: kshayes513 | March 5, 2011

New superhero stories from Cliffhanger Books

I’m happy to pass on the news that Cliffhanger Books has chosen the stories for the forthcoming superhero themed anthology, Gods of Justice. I was only a contributor to their first anthology, Paramourtal, but this time I’m a co-editor with Cliffhanger publisher Kevin Hosey. I’ve learned this week that the toughest part of being an editor is having to say “no” to a story I really like, for any of a number of excellent reasons, that still don’t make the decision any easier.

You can find the list of stories and authors on Cliffhanger’s home page. I expect we’ll be putting up more information soon, about the stories and their authors.

One of the perks of working with Kevin is that he gives each editor a slot in the book, so I also have a new story, The Dodge. And halfway through writing this story, I realized that it was not set on 19th century Earth, as I had thought, but on a colony world centuries in the future. Yes, significant worldbuilding must happen, even in a short story! This new world of mine already has both planetary and solar weather, geography, biology, and the beginnings of a rocky colonial history. I expect you’ll hear more about about it here, sometime!

Update: 3/28/11 Kevin has just posted a short description of each story in Gods of Justice. You can find them here.

Oh, and did I mention the cover? This may not be the absolute final look if Kevin thinks of something cooler, but I love it!

Responses

  1. YES! World Building Rules!!

  2. Congrats on the job, Karen! Looking forward to the volume.

  3. Thanks, John. We’ve got some great stories, with a lot of variety and imagination.


Leave a Reply

Categories

